Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default .17 HMR rifle questions

OK, so I tried a buddy's .17 the other day and it was a lot of fun; a lot gentler on the shoulder, ears and wallet than the .30-06 for sure! I'm guessing (I didn't look) it must have been a centerfire cartridge, as the muzzle velocity was over 3000 fps. For affordability of cartridges I'm thinking of a rimfire, a dollar a pop is getting a little rich for a day of shooting. I'm a newbie on the rifle front and will not be reaching out 500 yds; this'll be more of a rabbit, varminting/plinking and paper-puncher gun. Maybe get a used one.

Does the guideline of bolt-action being more accurate hold true for rimfires, or is that more of a centerfire thing? I see some interesting lever-actions and autoloaders for the .17 HMR. I don't mind a bolt action at all, I'm not a spray-and-pray guy, but maybe something different than the bolt-action I have on the deer/elk gun would be interesting.

And what's the difference between a scope for rimfires and a scope for centerfires? I have a target scope that was a gift (6-24 x 50) that'll be a better varmint scope than big game scope, but I don't understand the "rimfire" designation scopewise.

Any advice/thoughts for a budding gun enthusiast?
    Bees, brews and fun
    in Lyons, CO

>I'm guessing (I didn't look) it must have been a centerfire cartridge, as the muzzle velocity was over 3000 fps.

No. It's a rimfire. It's just a .22 mag necked down to .17.

>Does the guideline of bolt-action being more accurate hold true for rimfires, or is that more of a centerfire thing?

A bolt action is generally (not necessarily) more accurate because the lockup on it is solid. The location of the firing pin is irrelevant to that.

>I see some interesting lever-actions and autoloaders for the .17 HMR. I don't mind a bolt action at all, I'm not a spray-and-pray guy, but maybe something different than the bolt-action I have on the deer/elk gun would be interesting.