Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

Market for beeswax?

7K views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  MichelleB 
#1 ·
I was wondering if anyone had any experience with selling the beeswax after the honey harvest. How much do you sell it for and to whom? Thanks for the info.

#2 ·
The money is never in the raw commodity.

The money is in value-added products, such
as candles, soaps, furniture polish, and
(my personal favorite) wax-saturated thread
for the wrapping of bagpipe reeds.

Don't bother trying to get into the bagpipe
reed business - I think I've got the market
pretty much locked.

#3 ·
bagpipe who?what??? ok.

So my best bet would be to refine the wax and pour it into bar molds and sell it to soap or candle makers as i don't think I would like to get into the soap or candle making business. Sounds like too tedious work and with my limited time schedule it wouldn't work. Thanks for the suggestions. I'm still learning about all this. I'm starting my first hives this spring .

#4 ·
Hi, my name is Tom. I'm not a beekeeper, but do find the subject facinating. A friend of mine from the Osarks is looking for some beeswax, and I was helping him to find some beekeepers. While here, I saw this discussion and thought I'd mention some other folks who use beeswax.

Archers! We use bees wax for various things,but especially for our bowstrings. If you have beeswax to sell, you might consider posting a note on an archery related forum.

I run a photo and discussion forum called PaleoPlanet. It pertains to all manner of prehistoric skills (making bows/arrows, stone tools, basketry and other fiber arts, pottery, edible plants, firestarting, etc.). Many of us use beeswax,in small amounts, on a regular basis.

If anyone is interested, I could post your contact information on the PaleoPlanet site, and maybe send some business your way as a result!

Just a thought....

Tom

#6 ·