Hi Guys,

So what do you think? Should mead be under a cap or should it be under a cork? I know the caps themselves are less expensive than the corks. But that's about all I know.

Regards
    Dennis
    The mead mangler er wrangler :&gt

Depends on how long you want to keep it. I've used exclusively caps so far, and I've kept it 1.5 yrs without a problem. I'm told that for extended aging 2+ yrs you really do want a cork, and I believe it.

You forgot another option - kegging. I just started recently, and I'm hooked. The only downside is that it is just so easy to dispense that you drink more. Meaning you go through it faster and, well, you hit the floor faster. [img]smile.gif[/img]
    <a href=\"http://www.slezakfarms.com\" target=\"_blank\">http://www.slezakfarms.com</a>

Hi ScottS and Everyone,

My first batch of mead is underway and the smell escaping the airlock is quite pleasant. I've really enjoyed the experience.

As I'm just learning, I discovered the metal screw cap option.

It wouldn't require a capper/corker. Bottles can be stored upright. And the mead couldn't get spoiled from the mold found in some of the cork products.

Would plastic corks be a good alternative?

What do you guys think?

Regards
    Dennis
    Thinking if it tastes as good as it smells, bottling may be a minor concern :&gt))
    I once wrangled bees. But now, knowing better, I just let them bee.
    http://talkingstick.me/category/bees/

The only drawbacks IMO to the synthetic closures are aesthetic appeal for traditionalists and, if using a hand-corker, they're somewhat more difficult to insert. Benefits: no "corked" mead as you said, no sanitizing diffuculty, impermeability to oxygen, upright storage, fewer price swings due to wildfires in Portugal/disease/shipping problems etc.