Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hi - I'm new to beekeeping, attracted to TBHs after learning that "less is more" in other areas of agriculture. Also wood is expensive here, as are conventional kits.

After much reading, I am sitting down to finalize my hive design.

SO:
    Is there conclusive opinion from the more experienced folks about the value of sloped sides?

Reading back through this forum, I see that Mr. Murrell and Mr. Bush don't think there's much to it, while Mr. McPherson does - just taking the folks who seem to have the most extensive beekeeping experience.

The Internet turns up conflicting reports and claims. In general, reports from developing regions support the traditional, sloped design. Here's an example:

http://www.beesfordevelopment.org/in...n-of-top.shtml

Of course, these are largely pure-blooded African bees being kept in the tropics. So that may influence the bee-havior.

Bottom, bottom line - before I finalize a design and start sawing precious wood: is there conclusive evidence one way or another?

Thanks!
    If ignorance is bliss - why aren\'t more people happy?

Big Grin

- and Happy New Year, too!