Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Jumbo Combo Tbh

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Casper, WY
    Posts
    526

    Post

    Hi Guys,

    With all the talk about tbh size, production, supering, etc., I added the plans for a Jumbo Combo Tbh to my website. This is a combination of ideas from my tbh and my combo long hives. It is rectangular. It has the depth of my tbh. And if a rabbit is cut in the upper edge of the long sides, it will accomodate standard length frames and equipment like supers, excluders, etc.

    If this hive is to be run as a tbh, a 3/8 x 5/8 strip of wood should be tacked into the rabbit to prevent the bees from depositing propolis there. These strips could be easily removed and standard equipment put into this hive. Or custom frames, that would be much deeper than deeps could be built.

    I haven't built this one. But it would be an interesting and flexible hive to play with...errr...test some ideas about product, comb depth, etc.

    You can see it at the bottom of this page:

    www.bwrangler.com/bee/tmyt.htm

    Best Regards
    Dennis
    Last edited by D. Murrell; 11-07-2007 at 07:49 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    West Tennessee (northern part, zone 6)
    Posts
    29

    Post

    Thanks for sharing this information with us Dennis. I intend to use it as a guide to make my TBH so that I can use standard Langs in it if I need to. Thanks again.
    \"Oh what a tangled web we weave, when first we practice to deceive!\"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    chatsworth, calif usa
    Posts
    405

    Post

    Dennis-

    Is that an old Svea(sp)123?-j
    My Mom's other kids are smarter than me, but i'm not nearly as nice.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Casper, WY
    Posts
    526

    Post

    Hi Jim b,

    That's my Svea. I've hauled it over many a hill.

    Regards
    Dennis

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    88

    Post

    Are the differing widths on top bars necessary? I've seen mention of them on your website and other places.
    What are we, men or Beekeepers?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    El Dorado County, CA
    Posts
    605

    Post

    -Are the differing widths on top bars necessary?

    are you refering to 1 1/4 brood and 1 1/2 stores?
    if so im using 1 3/8 all across the board and it works. im not doubting that the two seperate sizes are "better". one advantage to 1 1/2 bars that isnt usualy mentioned is that since 2"x lumber is 1 1/2" there would be one less cut per bar when making it.
    all that is gold does not glitter

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    88

    Post

    Yes, I meant the 1 1/4 brood and the 1 1/2 stores.
    Dennis? MB?
    What are we, men or Beekeepers?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Nehawka, Nebraska USA
    Posts
    43,570

    Post

    They aren't necessary, but, in my experience, the bees will space the combs that way anyway, so why not go with it?
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Casper, WY
    Posts
    526

    Post

    Hi PaulR,

    The jumbo combo hive plans can accomodate 26 1 1/4" top bars or 17 1 3/8" wide top bars. The hive length is a compromise between the requirements for these two top bar hive widths.

    That probably wasn't clear in the writeup. I'll go back and edit when I get a chance.

    Thanks
    Dennis

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Oakland, CA
    Posts
    27

    Post

    B Wrangler,
    Thanks sooo much! Your site is super helpful for a new TBHer. Lots of great pictures and detailed information.
    Many thanks,
    Beebee

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads