Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: small cell bees

I have been told that small cell bees will do best in a top bar hive since they will be better enabled to draw on 4.9 mm comb more quickly. Also I have been told (by a reputable source) that they are more resistant to varroa mites. Any thoughts?

My hives are built and ready. Does anyone know where I can get small cell bees in the South for Spring?

Thanks,
    Jay Robinson

Hi Jay
    I am not a small cell beekeeper, although I would like to be and have been thinking about whether I want to try to regress my langs using small cell foundation or simply natural cell.

However I have had a couple years experience with Top Bar Hives.

I question the premise that small cell bees will do better than other bees in a top bar frame.

The bees will draw "natural" cell size comb in a top bar hive. Some of that will be small cell, especially in the brood nest.

It seems to me that if you went to the expense to buy small cell bees you would be better off putting them in a Lang.

I would think that Top Bar Bees would more readily accept small cell foundation for this reason.

I wonder if anyone has ever tried to regress a split off a top bar hive to small cell foundation, and if so if it worked any easier?

It would be very interesting to see what natural cell size that small cell bees build in a top bar hive and compare that to what size cells "non-regressed" bees draw in a top bar.

Thanks. I realize now looking back through the back logs of this forum that many people before me have asked similiar questions.

This website bleow is full of great info!

Small Cell Beekeeping

[size="1"][ November 26, 2005, 09:51 AM: Message edited by: Saluda Ranger ][/size]
    Jay Robinson

If you can get some small cell bees, do it. If not, then just keep feeding bars into the center of the brood nest until you GET small cell bees. [img]smile.gif[/img]