Hybrid View

Very new newbie here. Was reading this site today for the first time and have learned alot already. OK, never heard of the crush and strain method though it seems clear and easy to do (I have access to lots of 5-gal plastic buckets). My questions are these: (1) My new foundations are the pressed bees wax type. Can you crush and strain this type? (2) I thought that with the extractor method, you still have the drawn comb left to be used next year and the bees are just that much further ahead of the game next year. True or does the extraction method also destroy your supers comb? (3) I guess the crush method means I would have to buy new supers foundation and rewire and re-press the foundations. True? Thanks and cheers. OldScout.

>(1) My new foundations are the pressed bees wax type. Can you crush and strain this type?

It's easiest if it doesn't have wires in it. But yes.

>(2) I thought that with the extractor method, you still have the drawn comb left to be used next year and the bees are just that much further ahead of the game next year.

Yes they are. It's nice to have extracted drawn comb. But it's not worth the $600 to buy an extractor.

>True or does the extraction method also destroy your supers comb?

It totaly destroys the combs. You just have a bunch of sticky wax left to render and empty frames.

>(3) I guess the crush method means I would have to buy new supers foundation and rewire and re-press the foundations. True?

I would NOT use wires. I don't use them in mediums when I extract. I certainly don't use them when I do crush and strain. They will only get in the way. I usually use foundationless frames, starter strips or thin surplus foundation for this method, then you can do cut comb or mash it and strain it, either one. Or sometimes I use surplus foundation and extract it because I have a need for the liquid honey at the time.