Thread: Mead receipes

I've just completed my second batch of mead. I used (roughly) a 13lbs / 5-gallon that seemed to turn out pretty good on my first batch and went a little crazy on the second batch and used about 22lbs/ 5-gallon. This second batch took much longer to ferment (about 9 weeks) and tuned out very sweet almost like a very lite syrup. Tried this because some say they like a sweeter mead.

I'm new at making (and drinking) mead and was wondering if I've wondered too far out the mead spectrum on making this second batch of mead (w/22lbs)too sweat?
    Any thoughts and ideas from the mead connoisseurs out there?
    Thank you

[This message has been edited by sugar bandit #2 (edited March 21, 2004).]

Can't help much as I have only made a few batches of mead. My first was probably about 18 lbs. of honey to 5 gal water and turned out very sweet like yours. Too sweet for my taste bur my wife likes it. I did take one gal of this and stopped the fermentation process with 2 camden tablets about a week after i first racked it. This turned out more carbonated less alcohol, kind of like a honey wine cooler. My second batch I used 12lbs of honey to one gal. water. This has been racked for about two months has stopped fermenting and turned clear with a light amber color. I tried some about a week ago it is much dryer but still kind of a slight acidic taste. I am sure this will mellow with age and will be putting it in bottles soon.

Thanks for the input izybo. I like the 13lb receipe much better. This next winter I think I'll try a few different receipes using different berries and honey.

Check out the rec.crafts.meadmaking news group. Several of the mead makers there are active on the beer and wine groups also and are very knowledgable about their craft.
    George

Exclamation

I've got a few hundred gallons of mead making experience under my belt by now (and sorely need more wine racks!).
    --