Thread: drone brood

i'm very new to beekeeping. i've been reading lots and lots of info trying to help my level of knowledge bypass my lack of experience. i'm wanting to try freezing drone brood to stymie the varroa mites. i understand drone brood is usually in a larger sized cell. how do i get my bees to build strictly drone brood so that i can remove and freeze the entire frame? is there a different sized foundation to use? thinking that, i'm worried that i may have installed the wrong foundations in all of my frames. my bees were on severe back order because i ordered them late. they've been hived for almost 2 weeks.
    -M@

Why get rid of drone brood? I understand wanting to reduce varroa, but being a newbee also, here are my questions:
    a) Won't the bees just make more drones if they deem it necessary to have X amount of them?
    b) Wouldn't a newly hived package be relatively varroa 'safe' at least for a little while?

NewBeeMatt...... check the box that your foundation came in if you dont have that check your invoice to see what foundation you have.A package will not really need to draw out drone foundation.You need them to build worker cell foundation so the colonie will build up.later in the fall get some drone foundation from dadants or put in a empty frame on the side or put a shallow frame into full hive body and they will almost always build a strip of drone comb at the bottom of the shallow frame this will have plenty of drones to trape mites

>how do i get my bees to build strictly drone brood so that i can remove and freeze the entire frame?

Buy drone foundation. Generally if you have nothing but worker foundation in the hive, adding an empty frame in the brood nest will result in a frame of drone brood.

> is there a different sized foundation to use?

Yes. It's 6.6mm foundation.