Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bear with me as I'm new to all this. But in reading up on beekeeping I've heard two things that don't match up in my mind. On the one hand smaller cell size and smaller bees is supposed to help with the mite problem. On the other hand, the feral bee population was decimated by mites. I would assume that the feral bees were using naturally small cell size yet that didn't prevent them from being wiped out. Am I missing something here?

Thera are bad stories about varroa protection with small cells. There are no official recommendations to reduce varoa with small cells.

On the area were exist Africanized bees system works.

>Am I missing something here?

The problem is that this question typically comes with several assumptions.

The first assumption is that the feral bees have all but died out. I have not found this to be true. I see a lot of feral bees and I see more every year.

The second assumption is that when some of the feral bees did die, that they all died from Varroa mites. A lot of things happened to the bees in this country including Tracheal mites, and viruses. I'm sure some of the survival from some of this is a matter of slection. The ones that couldn't withstand them died. We know that tracheal mite resitance is inherited and easily bred for.

The third assumption is that huge numbers of mites hitchiking in on robbers can't overwelm a hive no matter how well they handle Varroa. Tons of crashing domestic hives were bound to take a toll. Even if you have a fairly small and stable local population of Varroa, a huge influx from outside will overwelm a hive.