I'd like to try an organic approach for next year. There are no archives for this forum- (where'd they go?)
    I have no experience using wax/wire systems, just pierco- is there anything like this available?
    Thanks.

This company is working on a fully drawn small cell comb:
    http://www.honeysupercell.com/

I am anxiously awaiting their success so I can try the product.
    48 years - 50 hives - TF
    Joseph Clemens -- Website Under Constructioni

If you don't want to wire and buy foundation, try foundationless. Put a comb guide on the top bar or cut the top bar on a bevel. The comb guide could be popscicle sticks or other strip of wood in the groove of the top bar or a bevel on the top bar.

Or learn to wire.

http://www.beesource.com/eob/wire_embedder/index.htm

For pictures of foundationless see my web site.
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF

>Put a comb guide on the top bar

Could you turn the top bar slat vertically instead of the normal horizontal position (to hold in foundation)?

Thanks for the help. I'll look into both. I really should learn how to wire anyway.

>Could you turn the top bar slat vertically instead of the normal horizontal position (to hold in foundation)?

That is what I did, I also painted wax on the bottom edge to give them a starting place. I've only done about twenty frames to put in my cut-out colonies.
    Bullseye Bill in The Scenic Flint Hills , KS
    www.myspace.com/dukewilliam

DennisT....... The archieves are accessed through the "search" function at the top right.

>Could you turn the top bar slat vertically instead of the normal horizontal position (to hold in foundation)?