Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hello Folks

I'm a newbie at beekeeping, but from what I've read, it seems like SC is the way to go.
    I started out with a beeginner kit of 2 deeps and plastic foundation and now I'm trying to migrate to all mediums and SC.
    So my forst move ws to put in a couple of frame of SC foundation into the deeps to see what happened.
    Next, my plan is to introduce 1 medium box at a time of SC starter strips toward the bottom of the hive and let them draw, raise brood on it, then introduce another box. The first box have been in for a week and I took a picture I thought was interesting

http://drobbins.net/bee's/Dsc00779.jpg

notice the starter strip, which is 4.9 mm is quite nicely drawn.

Here's a deep sheet.

http://drobbins.net/bee's/Dsc00776.jpg

My earlier experiments with whole sheets weren't nearly as evenly drawn. What I thought was interesting is it looks like when they got off the strip they started drawing larger cells.
    I'm getting my poop together and building a frame stand so I can take better pictures. I'm gonna get a scale in the picture so I can measure how many pixels an inch is then I can do a better inspection of the cell structure at my leisure after the inspection.

Dave

Ya know, another comment
    notice how on the full sheet of small cell, in the area where they are storing honey, it seems to be drawn out quite uniformly. in the area where they are laying brood the cell size is much more confused.

Thoughts???

I understand they aren't regressed yet, just an observation

Dave

Hi Dave,

I've sure seen alot of that kind of comb myself. And when I was following the typical small cell regression idea, I culled lots of it. It's a very expensive process!

>Thoughts???

Ok, here I go! :&gt))