Thread: Comb Honey

Hybrid View

Here is a real neat idea for comb honey. It looks like a real time saver.

Steve http://www.beeosphere.com/DesktopDefault.aspx?tabid=252

I saw that in Decembers Bee Culture. Not quite sure what to make of it yet, but it definatly could be a timesaver.

If it works well and the bees fill it well, it would save a lot of cutting and draining. I wonder what it costs per package? If it's comparable to the cost of a clamshell then it would be a real timesaver.

I know I am new to keeping bees but the idea of comb honey to me is to chew the comb. Since this system is basicly plastic foundation on the bottom of the pack you would have to scrape the comb out. There is not a way of cutting it into bite size pieces. I am not saying it may be a good marketing product anyway. This was just a thought I had when I read the article.

It's true, that's the way I eat it. I cut a thin slice off and put it on my toast or biscut or whatever. In this case you'd still probably cut a slice. You'd just have to do a little sideways movement to break it loose from the bottom of the container. It's the container botom that is embossed so the bees will connect it there.

I wonder how this differs from the Hogg half comb cassettes?

I would like to answer some questions regarding the beeopac that i have seen posted on the chat page.
    I am hopping that the bee o pac will sell in the USA for 0.40$ each pac which includes the lid. 0.50Can$ The only other cost would be a wrap around label that would act as a safty seal.
    Selling this product from the farm has been brisk and has been going for $4.00can with no problem.There is 128 pac/ 1/2super, with this you can calculate your return.
    In timed runs I can set up a super in ten min, four weeks for the bees to fll with a moderate honey flow, and then 45 min to break all the packages apart put lids on and be ready for market. Eack pac is holding 130gm approx or 4oz approx.