Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

More on TBHs

3K views 1 reply 2 participants last post by  Michael Bush 
#1 ·
This was a part of a personal email reply (to a fairly new beekeeper) that I'm posting in hopes of refreshing/energizing the discussions on Top Bar Hives:
--
I’ve been keeping bees for more than ten years and this was my first attempt at a Top Bar Hive. I mainly was interested in seeing if the sloped sides would really discourage the bees from building brace comb to secure the honeycomb to the side walls of the hive. I’ve collected swarms for many years and so I’ve had a chance to observe how they build their nests if left to their own devices and it seems to me, that a TBH very closely simulates what they would do in nature. All of my equipment is Langstroth-type hives (except for this first TBH). I have plans to build at least one more along the same lines (more on that in a minute).