Thread: What wood

Cool

As a beginner i have the following questions
    a) Is possible to build the hive with good quallity plywood?
    b) I can't find so wide wood pieces to build. Can i glue 2 pieces and use it as one?
    Sorry for my bad use of English language.
    Happy new year to everybody.

[This message has been edited by mikeaegina (edited December 29, 2002).]

>a) Is possible to build the hive with good quallity plywood?
    Yes. The reason commercial hives are not made of plywood is that buying new plywood is more expensive than plain wood. I have made them from scrap plywood with good success. If you can find someone decking a floor with 3/4" tongue and groove plywood, there are usually big enough scraps to make Lanstroth hives, and lids. Even as small as 5/8" can work, but not as well.

>b) I can't find so wide wood pieces to build. Can i glue 2 pieces and use it as one?