Thread: Solar Energy

Solar Energy

There is no one to help us install solar electricity in Louisiana. If you want to install solar energy in your home, you are on your own. The closest solar installer is Meridian Energy Systems (http://www.meridiansolar.com) in Austin, Texas. I designed my own solar system and I made many expensive mistakes. I am still learning and making mistakes. However, I have a better idea on how to design my next solar home, thanks to SEI.

I attended a one-week Solar Energy International (SEI) workshop in Austin, Texas on photovoltaics design and installation (http://www.solarenergy.org). We had two very knowledgeable instructors. One of the instructors was Scott Ely from Earthsense (www.earthsense.com), the educational division of Sunsense. Another student and I were the only two students who had working solar systems. One student said that SEI was a traveling salvation show, attracting more converts from the dark-side to a sustainable energy future!

The SEI workshop was full of revelations. The most startling surprise was that off-grid solar electricity comprises only a small part of solar business. Interconnecting a PV system with the utility grid commands the lionÂ’s share of the solar business. Large companies are more likely to embrace cheaper power options more swiftly than homeowners. General Electric, PB Solar and Mitsubishi and Nanosolar are focusing on installing solar cells on the rooftops of large commercial buildings (Pearce). These are not low voltage systems. Commercial solar applications are typically from 400 volts to 600 volts.