Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

a few questions on a vegtable gardens.

i am not an expert grower and usually only grow a few types to have a few fresh summer salads.

i will probally be looking at corn, carrots, radish, green peppers, hot peppers, 3 selections of tomatoes, cukes and strawberries. i am thinking of trying lettuce this year too.

- any advice on a decent priced rotor tiller unit?
    what about HP and size? my garden is about 20x20

- what tips and tricks do you have for growing big vegtables?

- what do you like to grow?
    NH Beekeeper

The best roto tiller I've seen is a pig. Buy one from a farmer and put it in your fenced off garden. When the pig is done tilling it all up, you can butcher the pig and cut it up and freeze it.
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF

hahaha a pig! now that is something i have not thought about. i am being introduced to bees and chickens this year for the first time so i just dont see a pig fitting in too. haha gave me a good laugh Michael just thinking about it [img]smile.gif[/img]
    NH Beekeeper

Cool

I am so looking forward to putting in a vegetable garden this year. we normally do a pretty large one. Havent had one in 2 years due to moving 2x in that time span :mad:

Re: tiller size, for a 20x20 garden, it may be worth renting one if you only plan on tilling in the spring before you plant. If you absolutely need to own a tiller (and I can certainly understand that!) top of the line tiller would run you sone serious $$ and prob not necissary. I have a little mtd that I picked up used for about a hundred bucks that has lasted me almost 10 years with little or no maintenance on my part. Not that a good troy built or toro wouldnt last much longer.

And that pig idea...........