Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Troupsburg, NY
    Posts
    4,074

    Question

    Anybody out there ever tried mini-topbar mating nucs? Thoughts....? [img]smile.gif[/img]
    "I reject your reality, and substitute my own." Adam Savage

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Kiel WI, USA
    Posts
    2,368

    Post

    I've always thought flowerpots would work nicely, bottom entrance, etc.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Heavener Oklahoma
    Posts
    931

    Post

    I bought the top bar mini Nucs Got a few pictures, I really like them

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Troupsburg, NY
    Posts
    4,074

    Post

    Velbert

    I think it was your photos that got me to wondering about them, and whether anyone else had tried them. It seems like it would be easier to make than all those half frames used in boughten mini nucs. How do you get them to start drawing the frames out?
    "I reject your reality, and substitute my own." Adam Savage

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Nehawka, Nebraska USA
    Posts
    46,102

    Post

    >Anybody out there ever tried mini-topbar mating nucs? Thoughts....?

    http://website.lineone.net/~dave.cushman/kirchhain.html

    This one is a top bar mating nuc. If I were building mating nucs I would not build frames. Top bars are quite sufficient and much easier.

    I did some of my mating nucs with top bars from my TTBH this year. They work just fine.
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Heavener Oklahoma
    Posts
    931

    Post

    Hi

    peggjam I Just used a starter strip about 2" Deep

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Troupsburg, NY
    Posts
    4,074

    Post

    Thanks for the link MB. I think I might try some of these, made of wood of course.

    Velbert:

    So you just used a starter strip and let the bees you used to populate it draw it out? How long did it take them? Thanks.
    "I reject your reality, and substitute my own." Adam Savage

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Heavener Oklahoma
    Posts
    931

    Post

    I Put about a 12 0z cup of bees into mine when there was a flow on also put about a 1/2 pint of HFC syrup #55 in there inside feeder and they had most of them built in about 4-5 days dont want to feed to heavy they will fill up the combs with the feed and Queen wont have any where to lay the top bars are only about 6 1/2 inches long.or about i forget the exact measurments.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads