Thread: The Worst Queen

O.K. I think that we have completely exhausted the "best queen" stuff. I'm starting in of the worst queens. I haven't yet had the displeasure of AHB, so I'm casting my vote for nasty little feral queens. I some of you say that they're mite resistant, but I just don't care. They're mean, they love swarming, they propalize EVERYTHING and they run on the comb. Worst of all, the drones breed with my bees. I've read that Elgons are equally good for nothin', but I think that they mostly live outside of the US.

So far, I would say the Buckfast queen was the worst. I was hoping that they would come out early and work later like some epople said and it didnt happen.

I am not sure if it was the race or jsut that queen so I will (maybe) try again next year
    Chef Isaac..Culinary Arts and Honey are a sweet mix! http://www.sweetascanbeehoneyfarm.com & http://www.adoptahive.info

I have a lot of the ferals and the meanness wasn't hard to breed out. I'm no expert on breeding, but I simply got rid of the mean ones and kept the nice ones.

Yes they propolize more. Is that a bad thing? Propolis is an antimicrobial. Running on the comb was another trait I didn't find hard to breed out. Occasionally I still get one that's runny. Flying queens is my biggest frustration with the ferals. I only get one chance at catching them and marking them. They fly at the drop of a hat.

The meanest bees and the nicest bees I've had were Buckfasts. [img]smile.gif[/img] Although some of the ferals I've seen over the years were pretty mean.
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF

Worst,Best?
    Same relpie?
    Worst A queen that does not do what you want it to do.

Best a queen that does what you want it to do.

The best and worst queen i have had
    By far the best all around the mutts i raize myself

The worst 2nd gen hybrid of any kind
    Mitch KD8IMF

Hi,