Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Upon inspecting one of my strongest hives today, I noticed about 8 to 12 cells on both sides of one frame that had what appeared to be poorly developed pupa. See pictures at: Foulbroud? Last week, this brood box had 7 to 8 frames of solid brood. I was extremely happy to see such a tight and large pattern of brood. This is a relatively young hive; as they just recently drew out the second brood box on permacomb foundation and this was the first batch of brood on this foundation. You can see the stain in some cells and others are perfectly clean. The black, deformed pupa do not have any odor and do not stick to the cell or are the pupa in the cells "ropey".

From what I've read in a few books, I think this may be European Foulbroud but I would like some second opinions. Does anyone know what this may be?... and what action should I take?

I'm no expert, but looks like sacbrood

[size="1"][ May 27, 2006, 10:49 PM: Message edited by: Branman ][/size]
    Ask two beekeepers, get three answers

Yelp

looks like sacbrood to me too In the early stage it will have a sac with a real water fluid in it ...also on cell there look like chalkbrood usally here in oklahoma sacbrood its not a any problem. never see much just one here an there once in a blue moon..

http://www.ars.usda.gov/Services/docs.htm?docid=7472

Send in a sample, it's fast and free.

It does not look like european foul brood, I've got some of that in my apiary. It does look like sacbrood. Send off a sample to be sure.
    Dulcius ex asperis

So what are the consequences and procedures with sacbrood?

Here's a pretty good page on sacbrood.

http://www2.dpi.qld.gov.au/bees/4925.html