Page 1 of 12 12311 ... LastLast

As a newbie I have been looking at all forms of treatments.

I use small cell but looking at a back up, emergency treatment.

Oxalic Acid seems almost too good to be true.
    *Low Cost
    *Readily Available
    *Easy to administer
    *High knock down rate.

What is the down side to this???

48 years - 50 hives - TF
    Joseph Clemens -- Website Under Constructioni

One downside may be that it isn't exactly legal to use, at least in the US.

Now to be self incriminating, I'll have to admit that I used it last year as a vapor and had very good results wintering my bees. The "crack pipe" method took a fair amount of time per hive, but I expect with some experience I could speed things up. If you try this method, be really careful about breathing any of the fumes. I know it's been discussed here before, but even a slight wiff gives you that gotta-constantly-clear-my-throat feeling.

I would like to try the drizzle method. It sounds so much simpler and it has a great deal of positive history in parts of Europe.
    Linux - World domination through world cooperation

If I do use it I would only consider doing it with the JB200.

Altough the MSDS is nasty sounding, all acids are in pure form. Like tartaric acid (grapes), citric acid, etc.

Acetic acids' (pickles and such) MSDS is even nastier than oxalic and we eat, drink, and clean with it regularly.

http://www.bu.edu/es/labsafety/ESMSDSs/MSAcetic.html

Any headway on getting it approved for mite control??

from what I've read, I wouldn't hold my breath (except when I'm sublimating it)
    nobody's gonna make any $ off of it

Dave

Dave.... Good point...... unfortunatly.

Some thoughts from a guy who started learning about organic gardening when he was 8 years old:
    Even though trace amounts of oxalic acid can by found in many natural systems, those systems don't happen to experience oxalic acid in the manner or quantities described as treatment of honeybees for mite infestations.