Thread: what eats bees?

Angry

I checked my hives today and found that one colony was dead. Their bodies were in a cluster in the upper chamber, right under their bee
    candy, and between two frames with honey. But they were dead.

When I examined them I noticed to my surprise that many of them had been beheaded!
    What the ---?!

Upon closer examination I found others that weren't beheaded, but their thoraxes had been completely hollowed out, from the anterior,
    as if something had eaten out their entire thorax, leaving the head and abdomen barely connected.

I examined other dead bees with no noticeable physical damage.

What would do this? Last time I examined them the colony appeared quite healthy, about 2 to 3 weeks ago. (although I am a novice, so....)

Thanks,
    Richard Higgs aka radioman, Tulsa

>When I examined them I noticed to my surprise that many of them had been beheaded!
    What the ---?!

>Upon closer examination I found others that weren't beheaded, but their thoraxes had been completely hollowed out, from the anterior,
    as if something had eaten out their entire thorax, leaving the head and abdomen barely connected.

There are many debris beetles that will eat dead bees. Mice will kill and eat bees, but probably not so much the way yours sound like.

I wouldn't think the debris beetles would be active in the winter, but I don't know what your weather is like.
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF

I dung know anything about debris beetles. Could fire ants be an outside possibility?

Michael and Beemaninsa,