I would love to hear what people are using in place of the conventional chemicals. This is my first year and so far my plan is this:

For Varroa:
    1. screened bottem boards
    2. drone comb
    3. sugar sprinkle after the brood is gone (I haven't done this yet)

For Tracheal Mites:
    1. Grease Patty

For AFB:
    nothing

For Nosema:
    nothing

Does that seem unrealistic? And does anyone have a link for more info on FGMO? And how does the grease patty compare with the essential oils?
    Thanks.
    Louise

>I would love to hear what people are using in place of the conventional chemicals.

I'm using screened bottom boards, small cell and fogging with FGMO. After I get them all regressed I will phase out the FGMO and see how that goes.

>For Tracheal Mites:

FGMO fog and small cell.

>For AFB:
    nothing

>For Nosema:
    nothing

>Does that seem unrealistic?

If you monitor the mites so you know if it's working you can make adjustments. I do think the drone method is a lot of work for the bees and the beekeeper, but I think it will work to kill the varroa too.

>And does anyone have a link for more info on FGMO?
    http://www.beesource.com/ubb/Forum11/HTML/000041.html http://www.beesource.com/ubb/Forum11/HTML/000099.html http://www.beesource.com/pov/rodrigu...2001report.htm

>And how does the grease patty compare with the essential oils?

Most people put essential oils in their grease patties. I'm not sure how much they help, but I have used them in the past.

They say the essential oils suppress the reproduction of the mites and boost the immune system of the bees.

Thank you Michael. I can't believe that I didn't see the entire section on FGMO!
    I went to a Honey Bee Pest & Disease workshop this spring and FGMO didn't even make it to the outline. I remember it being mentioned by a participant, but it was dismissed pretty quickly. I'm glad to have this source.
    Louise