Well, I think I messed up. Last year I started playing with starter strips. I used them in the second deep in a two-hive body system. Most of the strips were used for honey storage. This year I had to rearrange things between hives and didn't pay too much attention on where I was placing the frames containing the comb built from the starter strips. About six weeks ago, I noticed that the queen was laying up these frames with a large percentage of drone brood and as a result, over the past few weeks the drone population has been dramatically increasing. Now today, the hive has a massive population of drones that are consuming all surplus honey. There are so many drones that it was impossible to find the queen. I did see uncapped worker brood, so I guess she is still present, but brood pattern was not great. I removed three frames from outside of the brood nest and placed new foundation in the center of the box.

My guess is that this starter strip built comb resulted in drone-sized cells, true? Shouldn't the queen do a better job at regulating the number of drones, or was this a complete rookie mistake? I would like to eliminate some of these drones using a shake down and an excluder, but if I can't find the queen itÂ’s going to be a problem.

Any suggestions?

>Most of the strips were used for honey storage. This year I had to rearrange things between hives and didn't pay too much attention on where I was placing the frames containing the comb built from the starter strips.

Bad idea. They will build very large cells for honey storage and you shouldn't put those in the brood nest. Either put brood combs (that were drawn in the brood nest) in the brood nest or new frames with starter strips.