I found a location for my bees. A co-worker said I could keep bees at his house. Very beautiful next to a wildlife preserve.

Anyhow, he has a flat garage roof where he said I could put hives or a side lot that gets partial sun due to dense tree growth on his property. The garage roof gets sun much of the day, but has a black rubber covering which I assume will become quite hot in summer. The other location will get much less sun.

If you were me where would you put the bees?

Thanks.

Ron
    Butterchurn<br /><br />Diplomacy is the art of saying \'Nice doggie\' until you can find a rock. <br /><br />Will Rogers

IMO- the roof location sounds hot. If you went with open(screened) bottom board and a ventilated inner cover you might get away with it.
    Does the roof have stair access? If not, I wouldn't climb a ladder with hives or full supers.
    Todd Zeiner

I'm no expert, but I'd choose the ground over a roof any day. I've had to tote full supers before and getting them off a roof would seem difficult at best and probably dangerous. I'd recommend finding the best possible spot in the side lot and deal with the sun light issues. Will the owner allow you to trim trees/shrubs to your advantage? JMO

Cheers,
    Fred

I keep all of my hives on rooftops . have been raided by bears and have had total losses.
    Roofes can get warm, can be an advantage in early spring.Defenatly need shading in mid summer.
    Another advantage is their flight patterns are high enough not to bother my kids.

Has good points and bad but I know my bees will be there in the morning.
    scott

I have been tempted to put bees on the roof of my garage as I am in the city and that would keep them up out of the way of my fellow city dwellers. Seems like a lot of trouble to cary all the supers up and down laders and what not.