Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

This is my first attempt at overwintering two-story hives in a dark, cool (20-30 F), insulated building. Does anyone have suggestions as to when I should take them outside? Our strongest four hives are alive and well (I lost three), and have adequate food stores. Here in northern Minnesota, we still have snow on the ground and the temps hover in the 40's/20's (day/nite).

Thanks,

Jim

I used to winter some (20 - 40 hives) indoors for a few years. I moved them out generally anywhere from the end of March to the middle of April, depending on the weather.
    Gregg Stewart

Thanks, Gregg, for your advice!!

I'm curious, did you stop wintering inside? If so, why?

Jim

Yes, stopped wintering inside. They now winter outside, but in warm & sunny (sometimes) California. If I ever have any "extra" that don't go to CA, I may winter some inside again, but not sure if the extra work of moving them in and cleaning up would be worth it for a small number of hives. The one year when I wintered 20 inside (single deep), all of them survived. The next year I had 48 hives inside (probably too many for my rather small hot room, not really designed to winter bees), I lost about 1/3 of them.
    Gregg Stewart

California sounds MUCH better!!

I agree with the work concerns, it is a lot more work. But, I was hoping I could get by with less winter stores by keeping them in a warmer environment (20 above vs 20 below).

I'm curious about the single box method... When did you make the "single", in the fall?

Did you make divides from those in the spring or just let them build up and add a second body?

What kind of bees were you using with the singles?

As you can tell from my questions, I'm pretty "green" yet, but willing to learn.

Thanks again!

Jim