Just got back from my local beekeeping meeting and am somewhat depressed about the AHB. I would like to hear from any backyard beekeepers in AHB territories about what experiences they have had with neighbors and city officials.

The advice was not to catch swarms and use marked queens of known genetics. Which is fine with me but I am worried about the neighbors.

Well? I know we have to have one or two?

[This message has been edited by magnet-man (edited November 05, 2004).]

jfischer Guest

They tried to make it to the keyboard,
    but the bees got 'em before they could
    boot their workstations.

Hi
    well Im no expert but i do live in deep south Texas . I only use marked queens just so i can keep track of them.
    As for the neighbors . The neighbors know im pretty crazy but not stupid enough to put an ahb hive in the backyard if I want to stay married , and most of the neighbors are older retiree types and dont care at all about the bees.
    . As for the city ive checked the codes and not one word about bees in city limits but.... Im not going to run down there and tell them about the hives ,lots of bad publicity in the local news about them, seems like the prefer dogs,horses and old men for targets.
    As for the ahb swarms just requeen it does wonders rather quickly.
    Just remove 1 colony of ahb and I think you would make a quick decision about putting them in the neighborhood or removing another 1 for that matter, it can get real exciting in a hurry ,nothing like driving home in the full suit with a cab full of angry bees as passengers

Like I said im no expert just my personal experences

Malcolm