Smile

I know this is a loaded question but I'm going to ask anyway. I am wondering how long it takes a hive of bees (single brood chamber) to completely draw out foundation from a medium super and cap honey in it. I am aware a lot depends on a good honey flow, but was just wanting some "insight" from you experienced keepers since I am new to this. Would like to hear from you guys. Also any tricks to speed up the process?

Thanks

I just keep a feeder of 1 to 1 sugar water on the hive till they draw it out, seems to work but i never timed them.
    "Younz" have a great day, I will.

Really good hive with good flow...about 3-4 week to draw fill and cap. I normally expect it to take around 6-7 week for average hive.

Many years ago, when I was still putting deep honey supers on my bees with ten frames of foundation in them (and when I could still sling around deep supers full of honey), I had a colony occupying three deeps as a brood chamber. At the peak of the sweetclover flow, I put a deep super with 10 frames of foundation on them. They drew the foundation into comb, filled it with honey and capped it in three days.

Today, I use only mediums and shallows for honey supers. And I have plenty of drawn-comb supers (although I still regularly put three frames of foundation in each 9-frame super before putting them on the bees because a healthy colony needs a wax-building outlet, just as it needs drones present). The bees will routinely draw the 3 foundation frames and fill and cap the nine frames in 3-5 days at the peak of honey-flow. As with anything in nature, some colonies are faster, some slower (that's what gives the beekeeper things to think about while standing in a happily humming beeyard, enchanted as a bucolic ox).

Of course, during off-peak blooming cycles, one can watch the sweet little buggers work a medium super for WEEKS without filling and capping it.