Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: wintering nucs

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    farmland ind randolph
    Posts
    35

    Post

    clayton i have 5 hives,so can i make these wintering nuks you spoke of. do they hacth in spring ,what time do you start, detailes of when and how to do this thanks raybo1331

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    crown point, NY, USA
    Posts
    971

    Post

    Hi,

    clayton i have 5 hives,so can i make these wintering nuks you spoke of. do they hacth in spring ,what time do you start, detailes of when and how to do this thanks raybo1331

    reply:

    Yes you certainly can. You will need one screen board for each nuc. Take five frames from each colony making sure there is at least one frame of very young larvae and eggs. Either add a queen cell from grafts or let the bees rear a queen in the nucs. If you do the later make sure the nucs are well stocked with bees shaking a few extra frames of bees in, as many will return to the parent. Once the new queen is laying try to get the nucs plugged out with honey. As soon as it is cold and bees can barely fly any more, maybe end of sept./ beginning of Oct. Put a screen board on the parent hives and place the nucs on top of screen board (in deep hive body). If one was doing many nucs you use a plywood board to make two compartments to put two over every colony. But just one nuc in the whole box work too you can even fill in with foundations so in the spring you just pick it up and put it on a new stand. I must warn you there are some risks in overwintering nucs as some years they don't make it. But most years they do. One just needs to get a hands on feel for it which comes from just doing it. Also they should be feed in the spring the same as packages or bought nucs. So check them for late winter feed so they don't starve this is at the time when brood rearing begins and honey consumption increases.

    When to start: now is good. If you have questions just ask.

    Clay

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Lumberport, WV USA
    Posts
    71

    Post

    Clayton,

    Do you buy your nuc boxes or do you make them? If you buy them, where? Also when do you change them over to a 10 frame box?

    Thanks

    Dave

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    California- bay area
    Posts
    188

    Post

    I made a split today, when I was looking for brood I found a frame with swarm cells is it OK to put this frame in the split? And how long does it take for a queen to emerge then for the hive to swarm?

    Joseph

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    crown point, NY, USA
    Posts
    971

    Post

    Hi,

    Yes its OK to use them. But the colony that you took the cells from may still swarm. Bees often swarm as soon as the cells are capped they don't wait for a virgin to emerge. You need to take action ASAP.

    Clay

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    California- bay area
    Posts
    188

    Post

    will the nuc use the queens on the bottom as a queen or small swarm, what should I do for the large hive?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    crown point, NY, USA
    Posts
    971

    Post

    Hi,

    The nuc will use the cells for a queen. I would demaree the parent colony or a similar method that removes most of the brood from the queen and recombines.

    Clay

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    farmland ind randolph
    Posts
    35

    Post

    clayton i have 3 91/2 deeps. should i put the nuks on top of those or should iput it on the supers or forget the honey an focus on the nuks, raybo 1331

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    California- bay area
    Posts
    188

    Post

    What stinks is I am leaving for vacation today and won't be able to work on the hive. So I just put out a brood box with foundation to attract the swarm if it swarms while I am away.

    Joseph

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    crown point, NY, USA
    Posts
    971

    Post

    Hi,

    clayton i have 3 91/2 deeps. should i put the nuks on top of those or should iput it on the supers or forget the honey an focus on the nuks, raybo 1331

    reply:

    Put them on there own stand so they are out of the way and you can work production colonies as normal. In latter fall put the nuc on top of your colonies no matter your winter setup (1,2,or 3 deep) after honey has been harvested and its too cool for bee flight. Remember the double screen board. In the spring set the nuc to its own stand again.

    Clay


  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    crown point, NY, USA
    Posts
    971

    Post

    Hi Dave,

    Do you buy your nuc boxes or do you make them? If you buy them, where?

    reply:

    I buy them. From Betterbee in Greenwhich, NY. I should say that I use deeps too that have a follower board to divide it thus no transfer later to a deep. My 5 frame nucs I use for queen rearing as much as possible as they are easy to move. The only advantage of the nuc box is its ease of movement.

    Clay


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads