Question

I have been doing custom extracting for about 7 years and have not changed my prices in that time. I charge 5 dollars per box if I keep the cappings and 7 dollars if my customer wants them. I have a twenty frame extractor, a twenty frame uncapping tank,a 36 inch clarifier (can't remember the capacity)and a settling tank that the honey gets pumped into. Needless to say, I don't really have to do to much manual labor. My question is; am I charging a fair price or can I increase a couple dollars without feeling like I am overcharging other beekeepers?

Thanks for the advice.

David

------------------
    Maine-ly Bees
    David Wallace and Family
    Bowdoinham, ME
    mainelybees@aol.com

the prices i know of for here and florida run about 10-15 cents a pound. i dont know of anyone that gets the wax back.

Last time I had someone custom extract for me was in 1999, 8 cents per pound and they kept the wax.

------------------
    Gregg Stewart

Wink

I paid Mitch a case of beer for two boxes. It was a very fair price, plus I got to keep the cappings, but I brought my own capping tank.

Seems like the price is fair to me...

What do you think Mitch?

david

[This message has been edited by BerkeyDavid (edited September 07, 2004).]

I had no clue what people were charging for extracting.Now i do. I do not mind helping another beekeeper out,but do not plan on getting into the extracting biz.Looks to me like 10 to15 cents a pound is a very fair price.
    Bob

3 or 4 years ago before honey prices rose, 7-10 cents was the typical rate. so it has climbed but not a bunch.

I believe you are in the right range. If it were me, I would not raise my price more than $1.