Kevin S. Lunsford Guest

Angry

Has anyone had any experence with the SMR-breeder queen from Glenn Apiaries? DO NOT buy one!!!!!! AFTER you spend $70.00 for this USDA queen you are told that only 20% live to be ONE year old!!!!!! Mine lived for 5 WEEKS!!!!!
    Kevin

"only 20% live to be ONE year old"

Wow! What is the reason for that? Do you think that they are placed under so much stress with the instrumental insemination and whatever else they do to them?

I came very close to getting one this spring, but re-considered after I saw some spectacular queens in my own yard. I have been raising them for three years now. I have several beekeeper friends (commercial/sideliners) and I am always looking for new stock from them.

I live in Central lower Michigan and so far, this has been a great year for the queens. The last two weeks have been tough on my mating nucs...they're honey bound! I've had to split several of the nucs due to over population also. I guess if I'm going to have problems these are the kind to have.

Mites, chalk brood and foulbrood have been extremely rare this year...let's hope it stays that way.

Would you be interested in exchanging one or two good queens for the same from my apiary?

Just wondering

JB

BILLY BOB Guest

Hi,

I know a guy in north GA that sales smr queens, for $10.00 each. He has been chemical free for 3 years now. All of his queens are kept in a starter box for about a month to make sure they are good laying queens. I'll ask him if it's OK to put his info on the net.

Billy Bob

BILLY BOB Guest

Here is the info on the queens.

Dann Purvis

Purvis Brothers Apiaries, INC
    5122 Trackrock Rd.
    Blairsville, Ga 30512

706-781-3128
    706-781-3376

dannzann@alltel.net

Prices
    Amount April May-summer
    1-12 $11.00 $10.00
    13-99 $10.00 $9.00
    100-up $9.00 $8.00