Thread: Sting Reaction?

Hi I'm new to the site and find it very helpful alot of knowledgeable folks here. I've been keeping bees for 3 years and yesterday I was removing a pail feeder from a hive and you guessed it I was stung. Now I been stung several times and had small reactions, the common minor swelling and then the itching. Well after being stung on the top of my hand I began to itch all over this went on for about 30 min. Then my hand began to swell to the point where it is at today, about twice it's normal size. Went to the doctor since I can't bend my fingers. This has never happened to me before and the doctor believes there was some kind of infection too. Now I'm on antibiotcs and prednison, after talking to a fellow co-worker here husband who keeps bees also have the very same reaction as I did. Anybody have an idea why this would be happening..Thanks for the help and for the great site!

Beekeepers can build up immunity to bee stings and have very little reactions as bitten over time. Some commercial beekeepers can and do get stung dozens of times daily.
    But the other side to bee stings is that you can develope allergic reactions at any time. Always have a sting kit at your disposal.

The location of the sting, and the amount of venom also can play a part in the severity of the reaction. The epi-pen(sting-kit) is a good thing to have, but is used as a last resort. A dose of Benadryl( over the counter anti-histamine) may help, and I talked to someone the other day who is taking claritin on a regular basis in hopes of reducing sting reaction.

I think the doctor is wrong about the infection. I've never seen anyone get an infection from a bee sting. Bees are too clean for that. Sounds like a bad reaction to the venom to me. I try to put something on immediately to draw out the poison. A poltice of tobacco or aspirin has always worked the best for me. Baking soda would be next best after that.