Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: bee vacume

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    johnstown N.Y.
    Posts
    131

    Post

    Hi I built a bee vac and finely got to use it. I swear that vac is the best thing since the hive tool. I will take it to any swarm capture in the future. I had a small swarm the size of a cantalode and had them in the vac in less than five minutes. When I removed the inner box there were no dead bees. To create the vacume I used a 1 1/2 gal shop vac from walmart.To close the hole for the vac hose I used a mouse trap ans a piece of hardware cloth. I would recomend anyone who captures swarms to build, buy , borrow or steal one of these Thanks Dan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Nehawka, Nebraska USA
    Posts
    46,746

    Post

    I have used one off and on for decades. But I've never had one that would suck the bees off of a comb and still not injure any. I find them useful for vicious feral hives that are being cut apart, but I've never had a need for one with a swarm.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    The Scenic Flint Hills , KS
    Posts
    5,159
    I used mine again today. A swarm moved into a home inbetween the brick sideing and the inner wall.

    They wanted to save as many as possible, however I could only get about a pound. I may have gotten the queen as they are clustered very tight.

    I still kill a few, but I think that is because I probe with the hose and squish them with the end.

    I, like MB, have never had a need to use a vac to catch a swarm. As long as I can reach them I will either cut off the branch or knock them into a box, cover the box, wait for them to fan the scent, they all go in, and I cart the box off to thier new home.

    My vac has more than paid for itself, I wouldn't be without it.

    Bill

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    The Scenic Flint Hills , KS
    Posts
    5,159

    Post

    >I, like MB, have never had a need to use a vac to catch a swarm. As long as I can reach them I will either cut off the branch or knock them into a box, cover the box, wait for them to fan the scent, they all go in, and I cart the box off to their new home.

    That's what I get for saying never. I should have said "Well, it depends..."

    Today I had to use the vac to get a swarm. It was on a wall, and even though I scraped most of them off with a piece of cardboard and put them in the box, they marched right out, twice.

    So out came Mr. Bee Vac. This was a swarm I could not afford to lose, not just for the money I charged the company that wanted it removed, but because it completely filled a shipping cage!

    I don't know how many bees you can jam into a cage, but what a bunch of bees!

    Bill

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Twig, Minnesota USA
    Posts
    66

    Wink

    Kayakdg... I understand the vac, the hardware cloth, but I am find trouble picturing the mouse trap. Please help this old irishmen out a little and explain the operation again....

    Thanks!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    johnstown N.Y.
    Posts
    131

    Post

    Hi, Here is the mouse trap door kit. First cut a 3 x 3 inch piece of hardware cloth too fine for bees to pass through.Next take a standard spring mouse trap and lift the bar that kills the mouse. Center the screen under the bar and wire it into place. Now remove the spring bar assembly from the wood base by removing (and saving) the two staples holding it to the base. Now attach the assembly (using the two staples) to the inside of the bee-vac holding box so that it covers the hole you insert the vacuum hose into. So now when you insert the vaccuum hose through the vaccuum hole in the side of the beebox, the hardware cloth door is pushed out of the way. When you remove the hose, the hardware cloth door snaps into place, keeping all the bees in the holding box. If you have any more questions, let me know. Thanks, Dan

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    The Scenic Flint Hills , KS
    Posts
    5,159

    Post

    Or, when you take the hose out, put a piece of duct tape over the hole...
    Bill

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Nehawka, Nebraska USA
    Posts
    46,746

    Post

    I always used a piece of cloth and a cloth covered rubber band hair tie. Yours is automatic.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Neodesha, Ks
    Posts
    623

    Post

    I like that Mouse trap Idea. I am going to modify mine. Dale

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    johnstown N.Y.
    Posts
    131

    Post

    Hi I guess I should have gotten a patent and became wealthy beyond my wildest dreams Dan

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Ads