Found an old wooden corn crib that has a colony of bees in it . New owner wants them out without tearing down any of the building . I would like to force them out and capture them . I am new to beekeeping but I do have a mentor close by . Due to his age he doesn't get around well , he is 84 but still keeps bees .He says forget em and seal it up .

Would anyone have a good way to force them out ? The entrance is about 15 feet high but they have several other holes they have used over the years . I can trace they were in this same side of the building for about 30 years .

Drifter

A 30 year old colony is a valuable asset to the beekeeper and the species. It would be a terrible waste to loose such an asset. You really want to get the queen, but failing that. See if you can get enough egg brood to have a hive raise a queen from them for you. Failing that if you can get several drones you could have someone artificially inseminate a queen or few from a favorite line, though that might cost you if you can't find someone who wants to do it for you.

Charles Martin Simon I think says you can extract a queen using the cone method of hive extraction, but many people say that the queen is often lost using this non-destructive method of hive removal. I would contact him directly and see if he has any advice, I think he is friendly to inqueries of this nature.

------------------
    Scot Mc Pherson
    "Linux is a Journey, not a Guided Tour" ~ Me
    "Do or not do, there is no try" ~ Master Yoda
    BeeSourceFAQ: http://linuxfromscratch.org/~scot/beewiki/

The cone method is about the only non destructive way I know to get them out. Search on that and you'll find some discussions on it.