Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

new here....my first post

3K views 10 replies 5 participants last post by  RubyBee 
#1 ·
Hi all...I am very new to beekeeping, less than a year. I am so happy to have found a bee forum. I have tried unsuccessfully to contact people around me for information on bees. I don't get returned phone calls or replied emails. So I rely on a book and just doing it.

Unfortunately, I have a problem. I went to the hives today, I have four, and one was dead. I have no idea why, I suspect they starved. I won't be able to take out a frame today or tomorrow, so I don't know anything. But they must have just died because they were still soft. I am so worried about my other ones. I don't know what to do yet until I can inspect the dead hive.
I am not living near my hives. They are 40 mins. away from where I live. I will be living where they are by the end of next summer. We are trying to build a house.
Today is Sunday, so after church my husband and I went down to the property to see how the construction road was coming along, and I put my ear to each hive. One had no sound at all so I took off the top and found them all dead. I had no tool to pry out a frame. I last fed them sugar syrup, I believe before Thanksgiving. And last Sunday they were very active because it was close to 70 dgrees. But this past week has been very very cold. Yesterday and today were record lows. So...here I am.

I am so inexperienced. I have read a lot but I really don't know anything. I know I have already made a couple mistakes. And I feel stupid for any questions I might ask in the future. So, I apologize in advance. But I love forums, I learn a lot from them.
Thanks for listening

See less See more
#2 ·
I wouldn't feel bad unless you stole all their honey and they starved because of it. Otherwise they are wild animals who know how to take care of themselves.