Hello! I have been learning lots here on the forum - kudos to the more experienced beekeepers who take the time to teach us who are starting out!
    I am a brand-new-never-had-bees-before newbie. I am starting with two hives, and the packages should be here mid-April. I would really like to avoid chemicals, opting instead for HBH and essential oils for mite control. I will feed the new bees as soon as they arrive with a 1:1 syrup, but I was wondering about supplementing with pollen or a pollen substitute. How do I know if that's necessary? How do I administer it? I live on Cape Cod and it is still stinkin' cold here, and we usually don't have much in the way of spring growth until end of April or early May.
    Thanks!!

There are a variety of opinions on feeding pollen. From my experiece, when there is natural pollen available the bees don't want my pollen anyway, and I may as well let them gather it. There is plenty of pollen right now from Maples and Elms and now, even early flowers are blooming here in Eastern Nebraska. The daffadils and crocuses are blooming.

If you decide to go all natural on mite control, be sure to monitor the results. Do a sugar roll or some drone comb to monitor your results. Be especially diligent in the fall. I have tried all natural and lost hives. It is very depressing. To go all natural, I would either go for small cell and/or Food Grade Mineral Oil (FGMO) in addition to the essential oils and the grease patties.

Small cell is a misnomer. It should be called "Natural Cell Size".

Thanks Michael! I am interested in learning more about the smaller cell size. I have just gotten all my hive stuff ready including frames of "regular" foundation, I even have supers ready to go, (I know it's way early!) Would I have to replace all that foundation in the deeps with the smaller cell foundation?

Yes you would, but it's much easier to do it now than after the bees are living on it.