Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Cool

i am new to the bee keeping hobby i have most of the stuff now and i was wondering what the best type of bee would be for a beginner i live in michigan so the weather here is so-so any info will help a lot thanks much
    the one and only josh

Get any bee you can. You won't regret it. If you don't like something about them you can just requeen. This is only my first year so I am only familiar with two strains but believe me- you won't care what kind of bees you have at first.

Brian

Are your winters long or cold? Carniolans are good for long winters because they conserve food stores. Russians are supposed to be frugal also. I 've been keeping carnis and I'm very pleased with them so far. But like Count Zero said you will have alot of fun with any bee.

APK
    Andrew<br /><br /> <a href=\"http://orsba.proboards27.com/index.cgi\" target=\"_blank\">http://orsba.proboards27.com/index.cgi</a>

I agree with APK and Carnolian is what I have started out with.

So far very gentle......

I'd say Michigan is a good place for Carnolian.

For the beginners who are somewhat scared of bees I like the Carnolian. I had one Carni hive last year and now have 4 Carni hives with 6 Carnolian queens due in this week for splits. They are extremely gentle to work even when the hives get big.
    Most of my experience has been with Italians and I like them but I'm sold on the Carnolian.

Dan
    Dan Williamson
    B&C Honey Farm http://www.flickr.com/photos/9848229@N05/

hey guys thanks for the quick reply's i am also looking for people to hang with to learn more about them............. also our winters are always long and cold so i need somethign that is hearty so i think i will try the carni now my other question is does anyone know where i can get these bee's? i have looked all over and no one has them anymore should i wait for next year to get bee's? or what
    the one and only josh