Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Newbie here -- any help appreciated.

I am an assistant doing research about beekeeping for a teleivision show. My boss has stumped me with an assignment, and I could use any help whatsoever from pros like you.

Basically, the scenario I need to research, a swarm of bees infiltrate an underground facility, through the air system, and a team has to go in to collect them.

What would the team wear? What would they use to hold the bees, and what tools would they use to collect them? What reason could be given for the bees not stinging anyone? (Are they all drones? No queen present?)

Again, any help is GREATLY appreciated...I've spent hours surfing the web for beekeeping resources, and they all seem geared for the experts, like you. I will check back here for replies...emails to jnardino@hotmail.com are also immensely appreciated.

Hi,

What would the team wear?

reply:

Beekeepers suit. Veil, gloves, coveralls, ect. Some wouldn't wear anything other than a veil for protection.

What would they use to hold the bees, and what tools would they use to collect them?

reply:

Oh. There are lots of ways. One could use a bee vac, card board box, pail w/ air holes, burlap bag, grain sack. Any container that allows bees to breathe. For tools would depend on if there are combs or not. If yes, bee brush, knife, frames and methods to attach combs to place in a hive.

What reason could be given for the bees not stinging anyone? (Are they all drones? No queen present?)

reply:

They are docile. Many swarms are docile. Bees tempermant changes from day to day. Rainy over caste days they can be a bit agressive. The weather has an effect right down to whether or not the person harvesting is wearing purfume or cologne. Could be something as simple as the movement made by an individual. As for all drones- its very unlikely, almost never. And queenlessness really wouldn't stop them from stinging it they were so inclined.

regards,

Clay

Exclamation