Thread: Comb honey

I'm thinking I might be better off producing comb honey since this is my first time at this. The kits I've seen are pretty expensive, Ross rounds and the one Mann Lake sells. I read in my beekeeping book that there is a foundation you can buy without wire but havent located any yet. Do any of you guys use this product? and is it worth trying?

It is called "thin surplus" foundation. The suppliers have it as a stock item in their catalogs.

Cool

Galveston, Mann Lake page 10 has "thin surplus" foundation, Betterbee page 13 has cut comb foundation, Walter T. Kelly has cut comb foundation on page 16 and on page 8 they sell a basswood sectioned comb honey super for a resonable price. Check them out. The Basswood sections are what everyones Grandfather told them about. Comb Honey is fun to and can be profitable. Steve

I have no problem selling cut comb. I buy surplus foundation from Walter T. Kelly. You could also do starter strips. I just do cut comb. That means you just use shallow or meduim supers with thin foundation and no wires. The only real trick is that you shouldn't put the foundation in until just before you put it in the hive and you shouldn't put it in the hive unless there is a honey flow and they will soon draw it. If you put the foundation in too soon or put the super on the hive too soon there are two problems. The heat will warp the foundation. The bees will get bored and chew it up. I like the starter strips because I don't have either of these problems.