Question

My 1st package bees are to arrive mid April. I want avoid any use of chemical treatments in the long haul. I am not oppossed to some preventative measures while I am still new at this. Have tried to gather as much info this past year in getting prepared for keeping Bees but I have much to learn and want to get through this first year and end up with a healthy and strong hive going into winter. My plan so far is to treat with sucrocide when the package arrives (before hiving while still in shipping crate). I am taking a beekeeping course this week and their advice tends toward the use of preventative chemical treatments for all possible pests and diseases. But since these will be my first Bees and new hives can I get away with no chemical intervention until Fall? By the way I will be using screened bottom boards and slatted rack to help with var. mites and ventilation, Honey B Healthy added to syrup feeder and pollen substutute to help get them going.

>But since these will be my first Bees and new hives can I get away with no chemical intervention until Fall? By the way I will be using screened bottom boards and slatted rack to help with var. mites and ventilation, Honey B Healthy added to syrup feeder and pollen substutute to help get them going.

By the time you get a package there is usually lots of pollen around. Right now there isn't a lot here yet. Real pollen is better.

As far as forgoing checmicals, you need a plan how you will accomplish that and you need to implement it from the begining. After your bees are majorly infested (and they will be sooner or later) it's more difficult to do something about it. Some methods, such as FGMO and small cell are really only effective when you do them all the time. So now would be the time to start.

Also you will need to monitor Varroa mite levels regardless of what you decide to use to control the mites.

Here's my point of view on mites: