Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: PERMACOMB??

Angry

Boy am I confused. I followed the complete thread on "Permacomb" and still don't know what it is , or where to get it. :confused:
    I want to get some frames for supers I am going to add to my new hive ( I am a beginner) and came across the word "permacomb" and wanted to check it out as a possible choice. A search of catalogs of the big suppiers like Dadant & Mann Lake gets no results. Even "ask jeeves" only gave a description no info on where to get it. Does it work?? I use medium size frames and have been using wire crimped wax foundation and don t want to work so hard, and want to consider plasic based frames, but the info on permacomb reads like a mystery story - what is going on?
    GABE

OK Thanks
    I read the "applicaton note " as meaning that you cannot mix permacomb with other type frames in a super for "bee acceptance" I am going to go back through the threads on this subject to see if I can get a solid recommendaton or rejection from a user. If I remember correctly, you (Michael) said you use it. The big suppliers don't carry it 1. becaause it is patented and they can't ? or 2. because it doesn't work?? It is still a mystery.
    GABE

Ok - I found more info this time, sounds like,with only one hive and not much experience I better stick to the more commonly used stuff.
    GABE

If all you use is PermaComb it makes no difference. If you have PermaComb that has been used by the bees before, it makes no difference. If you put NEW PermaComb in a box with frames of bare wax foundation they will drawn the foundation before they will use the PermaComb. It won't be a disaster of any kind. They simply will prefer the wax to the plastic. This is true of plastic foundation, plastic frame/foundation (like Pierco) etc. The same rule applies anytime you use plastic foundation or comb.
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF