This is my first time overwintering and I'm wondering about one of my hives which was given to me last September by an oldtimer who's getting out of the business. We moved one of his hives from his yard to my yard and used his old hive stand and some white metal from an old microwave oven as weed barrier in front of the hive. Now I see quite a few--but not an alarming amount--of dead bees in front of the hive. The thing that confuses me is that they're not all just under the bottom board, like the other bees were just removing dead bees from the hive; rather, they're scattered in a very thin pattern in a three-foot radius around the entranceway like they flew out and died. I don't see this in front of my other two hives, but perhaps it's because the weed barrier in front of their hives is landscape fabric with pine needles over it. Has anyone else ever seen this?

Too, we had a very warm day yesterday--almost 70 degrees--and all three hives were very active. In particular, my very strong hive which is already showing signs of wanting to swarm--doing lots of buzzing around the front of the hive in a nervous demeanor (not agressive; just "antsy"). When it gets warm on a more regular basis I will start reversing the boxes every two weeks to prevent a swarm and will hang my swarm trap, but my question is if I super this hive with drawn comb as oppposed to new foundation, will they be less likely to swarm or doesn't it make a difference. Being a new beekeeper my drawn comb is at a premium and I'm trying to figure out how best to use it: give it to the strong hive to prevent swarming or give it to my two weaker hives so that they can get to work faster producing brood and storing pollen & honey.

Sorry this was so long--newbies have lots of questions!