Exclamation

I was given about 4 pick-up truck loads of rough sawed oak. The guy that gave it to me builds barns and said it was to seasoned to use the air nailers to install. I had a very good day at the fleamarket and hope to find a portable table saw for a good price.
    I thought it might work for the TBHs since the small amout of difference in thickness would not give as many problems. The only real worry I see is having to predrill everything.

Has anyone used rough milled lumber for hives?

JC

I have a few hundred supers I made from band sawed cedar.No planing.They are fine for the job.I have no experience with oak,but I once bought some used mahogany supers(very heavy).I have always used whatever materials God sent my way(pallets,crates,plywood,planer ends).It was all useable for something.
    ---Mike

I wouldn't hesitate to build standard boxes out of it too. Just make sure the INSIDE dimensions are right and a little off on the outside won't matter.

The oak boxes will last longer than any of us do. But they will be heavy. I wouldn't make full deeps out of it. They are already too heavy.

I sure will not make deeps. I have problems lifting so I am going to all mediums. Some of the wood is really thick and thin(1 1/4 to 3/4 of an inch within 3 feet). Those gang band saws cut alot straighter than the big blade. Since he buys it to build barns and picks over it before it gets brought home it is a low grade of rough sawed lumber. But out of that much lumer I should be able to build several hives and many other projects.

I make screen bottom boards and lids out of pallets (oak and hickory only). I bought a $200 Delta planer and a $200 Delta tablesaw which both work great. The planer makes the old pallet wood look like new, and makes it very smooth. It also gets boards to the same thickness. If you're going to spend the time it takes to make your own equipment, I say spend that extra bit to make it look professional... use a planer.