Wink

Seems like I will be splitting my hive at the end of the week. Any personal recommendations, special techniques or tricks will be appreciated as it is my first time doing this. Ended up getting a Smart from Draper's and a Russian from Handerman's to requeen my old italian. I really wanted to get a Cordovan but its was really hard to get in touch with anyone selling them. I probably end up having to requeen the Smart next year , but we'll see.

Select the hive to be split into two hives. Question: Do the frames in that hive look like this?

Frames should be well covered with bees and brood should be present on at least six frames. If the answer is yes, then we can proceed to the next step.

This next step requires the beekeeper to move the original hive approximately 1 yard from its present location and it can be taken further away if you wish. On the old stand, place a bottom board and an empty deep super.

Our next step is to find the queen. She will be located in the brood area 95% of the time when you look for her. If your hive is a double deep, take the top super off and sit it on the upside down top cover to keep from crushing any bees. In the bottom brood box, remove frames from the outside first working toward the center frames. Finding the queen is not easy. But you must find her! If you do not find her do not panic. Wait an hour for the bees to settle down and go back again. I like D.C. Miller's method of placing frames in the empty hive body in two's. In other words, you take two frames and place them together in a hive body. Leave a space and place two more frames in the hive body. Leave a space and place two more frames in the hive body. The queen will always be found on the comb not exposed to light. All one needs to do is examine the two frames for a queen by looking at the comb not exposed to light--this is the area on each inside facing surface of the comb.