Hi, I was wondering if anyone had any advice on harvesting a small amount of honey. This is my first year raising bees and it looks like I am only going to get about maybe 3 or 4 deep frames of honey between my two hives, for me. I was planing to buy and extractor this year, but don't think I will till next year now. Is there a way of uncaping and maybe letting it just drip out, with maybe a light bulb close by or something. I really had planed to have more honey than this, I started with two 5-frame nucs and the bees are always busy... maybe too much rain this summer... Thanks for any ideas you might have.
    J.P. Rich

squeeze the honey out with your hands, comb is distroyed, but really your only option without an extractor, unless you eat it as comb honey...

Ian

>Hi, I was wondering if anyone had any advice on harvesting a small amount of honey. This is my first year raising bees and it looks like I am only going to get about maybe 3 or 4 deep frames of honey between my two hives, for me.

With wires or not?

>I was planing to buy and extractor this year, but don't think I will till next year now.

I waited about thirty years and didn't get one until I had about eight hives.

>Is there a way of uncaping and maybe letting it just drip out, with maybe a light bulb close by or something.

Not really. It won't drain very much. There is a lot of surface tension. If you have an observation hive and watch them, you can see the bees use the surface tension to fill them to the brim There will be honey uphill from the mouth of the cell and it won't run out.

>I really had planed to have more honey than this, I started with two 5-frame nucs and the bees are always busy... maybe too much rain this summer... Thanks for any ideas you might have.