Thread: Starter Strips

Question

Hello All,

I’ve been following this site for several months and have found it to be an extremely valuable source of information! I’m a novice beekeeper with only one year of experience, so perhaps my question is trivial or has already been addressed.

I know that many have suggested using starter strips of foundation as an economical way of expanding the number of hives. I also understand that this technique has limitations, namely that frames created in this way cannot be used in an extractor, and much care must be taken when inspecting them due to their fragility. My question is: Can starter strips be used in combination with wired frames. What I suggest is: install the foundation wires as usual, but only use a small piece of foundation affixed to the grove in the top bar and unconnected to the wires. It seems that the bees, as part of the process of building the comb, would embed the wires into the comb. In this way the frames could be used as if the beekeeper has used standard full-frame wired foundation.

Any thoughts? Thanks in advance.

Sean

I wouldn't say you COULDN'T extract a frame that was from just a starter strip, but you would have to be very gentle and it would be difficult to extract that last little bit. I have not tried wiring and using strips, but the idea has occurred to me. I'd say sometimes it would probably work and sometimes the bees would probably come up with something you didn't plan on. But I would try it if you want to see.

Another thing you could do, is make blank foundation by dipping a peice of wet masonite (the correct size) in wax and peeling off the sheets. Control the thickness by how hot the wax is. Hotter=thinner. This could be used unembossed and wired and I think it would work fine. I haven't tried this, but plan to this year. This uses wax you already have to make foundation.