NewBee here with a question. I'm just beginning, and looking at various catalogs from which to buy my first (2) hives for this spring. I'll be taking a class locally, and I'm reading everything I can.
    My plan is to use 8 frame mediums and small cell foundation, thanks entirely to the info I've gleaned from my readings on this site (huge thanks to all).
    I was looking at the Brushy Mtn website for 8 frame equipment, and they use the term "Garden Hive" or "English Garden Hive" for some 8 frame equipment. Is this a unique thing, or do they just mean 8 frame?
    Thanks to anyone who can shed some light on this.
    Samantha
    Stamford, CT

Their concept of a Garden hive is one that is all eight frame, but not necessarily all mediums. I'd check the description and if it doesn't say all mediums, I'd call and check. But the "complete kit" will have plastic foundation (not small cell) and a lot of other things you don't need. It will also have a very pretty roof that is unnecessary.
    Michael Bush bushfarms.com/bees.htm "Everything works if you let it." ThePracticalBeekeeper.com 40y 200h 37yTF

If I were to get back to a couple colonies
    I would for sure get the garden hive. They
    are gorgeous, especially the copper roofed
    ones.

>It will also have a very pretty roof that is unnecessary.

They are attractive, but you can't set your smoker on top, or a glass of lemonade or cup of coffee. You can't turn the roof upside down on the ground and set hive bodies on it. They're also rather expensive. I have one, it came with a hive somebody gave me. I wouldn't have bought it, but now that I have it, I suppose I'll put it on my er.. garden hive [img]smile.gif[/img]
    Dulcius ex asperis

I have been thinking of building one for
    the back yard.