Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Record Keeping

I am new to beekeeping, having just aquired 32 wintered hives before Christmas. I am wondering if there are any websites etc which would help identify the do's and don'ts of record keeping. I know there is a commercial software package but I would rather develop my own records.
    Thanks for any direction / help from a new"Bee"

Bryan

Bryan, Find a local experienced Beekeeper and see if they will work with you. Hands on is a great way to learn. Also try to join a club. The beekeeper can help you find one. Just my thought on starting right. Dale

Just started and you bought 35 hives. You jumped in with both feet. Since you don't have a beekeeping style or list of things you usually do, you'll need to work that out first. Then I'd assign a number to each hive. For each hive every time you open it, you want to make notes on your observations on the health of the hive. Did you see the queen. Did you see newly hatched eggs. Did you see mites. Did you see bees with chewed wings. etc. Also make note of everything you did. If you moved something etc. Keep track of the genetics of the queen, if you bought a queen from somwhere. (Italian, Russian etc.) Keep track of supers of honey taken off. etc. This way you can keep track of hives that are doing well and hives that are not. I'd make a checklist of things that need to be done in the spring and fall and check them off when they are done.

Brushy Mountain sells a colony record book. It is a three ring binder with 50 loose leaf pages. $12.95 ++
    Get the ABC&XYZ, and The Hive and the Honeybee books while your at it.
    Also subscribe to Bee Culture and American Bee Journal.
    35 Hives? You stepped deep into this one. Good Luck...
    Bill