Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

honey bee research for school project

7K views 1 reply 2 participants last post by  DBAK 
#1 ·
i'm doing a school project on honey bees and was hoping to learn some information from an expert. i was wondering what the honey bees eat. i was also wondering, what does the drone do. madam or sir please, can you give the information for my questions,please!
Thank you!

#2 ·
Dear MSKatie,
I'm glad to see that there are young people who are interested in Honeybees. I am a beekeeper from Mississippi. Although I am not an expert on honeybees, I will try and answer your questions. This information comes from what I like to refer to as my Honeybee Bible. It is called The ABC and XYZ of Bee Culture by ROOT publishing 40th Edition.

FOOD OF THE HONEY BEE

Adult honey bees feed exclusively on honey and pollen. Honey is their source of carbohydrate and pollen provides the bees with protein and the small amount of fat they need. The vitamins, minerals and other substances bees need for a balanced diet are contained in both the honey and the pollen though the pollen is richer in these materials than is honey. Pollens vary a great deal as regards their protein content. However, the fact that bees feed on many flowers, and there is always a mixture of pollens in the hive, makes up for any deficiencies that may occur in any one pollen.

Young worker larvae and queen larvae are fed a special diet called royal jelly. This is secreted from glands in the heads of young worker bees. Depending upon the age of the larvae the royal jelly may contain some honey and pollen.