I just received my package of bees, and one whole package looks dead, and probably only a third of the other is alive. Should I call Dadant, or is there something I can do?
    Thanks,
    Oscar

How long since they were shipped? How were they shipped?

Thesurveyor

They were shipped on the 15th, in little boxes from Dadant. I guess the typical shipping containers for bees. Should I call them?

Oh, and they arrived this morning.

Make sure they have some sugar water available and put some warm air on them. Any bee capable of surviving will be revived by the warm air/sunlight. Sounds as if they had a bad can of sugar and starved or they were exposed to freezing temps for a long period of time.
    Normally there is problems with the post office laying the boxes sideways and they drown from the sugar water coating or drowning the bees. Any indication of this?
    Good luck.

While I am a beekeeper, I also work in the airline industry. We move most the bees that are shipped by u.s. mail. If the bees were not marked very explicitly that they are a "live animal", it is possible they were placed into an area of an airplane that is not heated and doesn't have oxygen. Air at 30-40 thousand feet is very cold and has little oxygen. contact your post office if they were insured and contact Dadants.

Definitely call Dadant. I have had bees arrive dead. The Post Office employees are usually terrified of the bees and I've seen them put them in canvas mail bags on the dock in the sun because they didn't want them inside. They see one bee hanging on the outside and they think they are escaping. The other thing they do is throw it somewhere and it lands sidways and the syrup drowns the bees.

Apiphobia is rampant.

Thanks for the replies. I appreciate it. What is the limit on amount of dead bees? If 1/3 are alive, is that enough?
    Oscar